SBE Elects Jerry Massey as President

The Society of Broadcast Engineers announces the results of the 2015 election for the national board of directors. Jerry Massey, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNT, was elected as the society’s president. Massey is the corporate regional engineer, southeast at Entercom Greenville in Greenville, SC.

Upon hearing the election results, President-elect Massey said, “As we prepare to embark on a new year with new SBE officers and board members, I first would like to thank President Joe Snelson for his professional and dedicated leadership of the Society over the past two years. We want to continue in his footsteps by focusing on continuing our advancement in educational opportunities and being an advocate for you the members of the Society of Broadcast Engineers. I look forward to working with the board in the year ahead, and also meeting many members of the SBE.”

Others serving one-year terms as officers, which begin on Oct. 14 are:

■ Vice President: Jim Leifer, CPBE, director of engineering and IT at iHeartMedia/South Florida, Boynton Beach, FL.

■ Secretary: Ted Hand, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, director of engineering/operations at CMG-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC.

■ Treasurer: Andrea Cummis, CBT, CTO, managing partner, AC Video Solutions, Roseland, NJ.

Serving two-year terms on the board of directors, which also begin Oct. 14 are:
■ Mark Fehlig, PE, CPBE, 8-VSB, CBNT – Chapter 5, Atlanta
■ Mike Hendrickson, CPBE, CBNT – Chapter 17, Minnesota
■ Ched Keiler, CPBE, 8-VSB, CBNE – Chapter 53, South Florida
■ Jeff Keith, CPBE – Chapter 93, Raleigh, NC
■ Kevin Plumb, CPBE – Chapter 14, Connecticut
■ RJ Russell, CPBE – Chapter 18, Philadelphia, PA

The national board of directors of the SBE is responsible for the development of policy and determines the programs and services the society provides to its more than 5,100 members. Those elected will begin their terms on Oct. 14, 2015, during the SBE Membership Meeting. They will join the other six directors who have another year remaining in their terms (Tim Anderson, CPBE, DRB, CBNE; Ben Brinitzer, CPBE, AMD; Gary Kline, CBT, CBNT; Wayne Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNE; Kim Sacks, CBT; and Eric Schecter, CBRE) as well as Joe Snelson, CPBE, 8-VSB, who will be the immediate past president.

The SBE National Meeting will be held Oct. 13-14, 2015, in Madison, WI, in conjunction with the Wisconsin Broadcasters Clinic, presented by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association and the SBE chapters of Wisconsin.

SBE elects Hogan president

Ralph Hogan

Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE returns as president of the SBE for 2012-13. The society elected 10 members to join the board for the upcoming year.

Results are in for the 2012-13 SBE National Board of Directors after the society’s first online election. Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE remains as president for a second term.

“I am looking forward to continuing the excellent progress the Society has made in the past year and begin exploring the recommendations of the strategic planning committee with the board of directors at our October National Meeting,” said Hogan.

Officers are elected to serve one-year terms on the Society of Broadcast Engineers Board of Directors. Returning to the board as officers are Hogan, director of engineering for KJZZ-FM/KBAQ-FM, Tempe, Ariz. as president; Joe Snelson, CPBE, 8-VSB, vice president of engineering at Meredith Corporationin Las Vegas, Nev. as vice president; James Leifer, CPBE, director of engineering & IT at Clear Channel South Florida in Miami, Fla. as secretary; and Jerry Massey, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNT, corporate regional engineer and DoE at Entercom Communications in Greenville, S.C. as treasurer.

The election of six directors, for two-year terms, includes the return of Tim Anderson, CPBE, DRB, CBNT, manager, strategic radio market and product development, Harris Corporation Broadcast Communications Division in Mason, Ohio; Gary Kline, CBT, CBNT, senior vice president of engineering, Cumulus Media in Atlanta, Ga.; and Scott Mason, CPBE, CBNT, west coast director of engineering, CBS Radio in Los Angeles, Calif.

New to the board as directors are Andrea Cummis, CBT, CTO, senior director of engineering 
and operations, WNET in New York, N.Y.; John Heimerl, CPBE, vice president of strategic technologies, WHRO-TV, WHRO-FM, WHRV-FM in Norfolk, Va.; and Wayne M. Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB AMD, DRB, CBNE, director of engineering, Texas A&M University-Educational Broadcast Services in College Station, Texas.

2012 was the first year the society offered online voting, which saw a 64% increase in ballots cast from the previous year. The total number of ballots cast was 1,313, which were 511 more ballots than in 2011.

The national board of directors of the SBE is responsible for the development of policy and determines the programs and services the society provides to its more than 5,000 members. Those elected will begin their terms on October 24 during the SBE Membership Meeting. The newly elected will join the other six directors who have another year remaining in their terms as well as immediate past president, Vincent Lopez, CEV, CBNT.

The National Meeting is being held in conjunction with The Rocky Mountain Audio Video Expo (AVX 2012) and the SBE/SMPTE Engineering Boot Camp. The event takes place in the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel in Denver Colorado October 23-24, 2012.

Vote in the SBE election

SBE ElectionThe 2012 SBE Officers and Board of Directors Election is currently underway. An email containing a unique link to online voting has been sent to voting members voting electronically. Paper ballots are being mailed today to members who opted out of electronic voting.

View the list of SBE director and officer candidates here.

If you do not receive an email with voting instructions or a paper ballot by August 1, please email Scott Jones or Hannah Trowbridge or contact them by phone at (317) 846-9000.

Voting closes August 28 at 4:30 p.m. EDT. At the time the voting closes all electronic and paper ballots are due in the SBE National Office by 4:30 p.m. The results will be known on August 28 when all the ballots are counted by the official board of tellers.

Those elected will be inducted into office on October 24 during the SBE National Meeting, which will be held in Denver, Colorado in conjunction with the Rocky Mountain Audio/Video Expo (AVX) and the Engineer’s Boot Camp.