SBE elects Hogan president

Ralph Hogan

Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE returns as president of the SBE for 2012-13. The society elected 10 members to join the board for the upcoming year.

Results are in for the 2012-13 SBE National Board of Directors after the society’s first online election. Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE remains as president for a second term.

“I am looking forward to continuing the excellent progress the Society has made in the past year and begin exploring the recommendations of the strategic planning committee with the board of directors at our October National Meeting,” said Hogan.

Officers are elected to serve one-year terms on the Society of Broadcast Engineers Board of Directors. Returning to the board as officers are Hogan, director of engineering for KJZZ-FM/KBAQ-FM, Tempe, Ariz. as president; Joe Snelson, CPBE, 8-VSB, vice president of engineering at Meredith Corporationin Las Vegas, Nev. as vice president; James Leifer, CPBE, director of engineering & IT at Clear Channel South Florida in Miami, Fla. as secretary; and Jerry Massey, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNT, corporate regional engineer and DoE at Entercom Communications in Greenville, S.C. as treasurer.

The election of six directors, for two-year terms, includes the return of Tim Anderson, CPBE, DRB, CBNT, manager, strategic radio market and product development, Harris Corporation Broadcast Communications Division in Mason, Ohio; Gary Kline, CBT, CBNT, senior vice president of engineering, Cumulus Media in Atlanta, Ga.; and Scott Mason, CPBE, CBNT, west coast director of engineering, CBS Radio in Los Angeles, Calif.

New to the board as directors are Andrea Cummis, CBT, CTO, senior director of engineering 
and operations, WNET in New York, N.Y.; John Heimerl, CPBE, vice president of strategic technologies, WHRO-TV, WHRO-FM, WHRV-FM in Norfolk, Va.; and Wayne M. Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB AMD, DRB, CBNE, director of engineering, Texas A&M University-Educational Broadcast Services in College Station, Texas.

2012 was the first year the society offered online voting, which saw a 64% increase in ballots cast from the previous year. The total number of ballots cast was 1,313, which were 511 more ballots than in 2011.

The national board of directors of the SBE is responsible for the development of policy and determines the programs and services the society provides to its more than 5,000 members. Those elected will begin their terms on October 24 during the SBE Membership Meeting. The newly elected will join the other six directors who have another year remaining in their terms as well as immediate past president, Vincent Lopez, CEV, CBNT.

The National Meeting is being held in conjunction with The Rocky Mountain Audio Video Expo (AVX 2012) and the SBE/SMPTE Engineering Boot Camp. The event takes place in the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel in Denver Colorado October 23-24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s